Closed (duplicate)
Project:
LoginToboggan
Version:
7.x-1.2
Component:
Code
Priority:
Normal
Category:
Feature request
Assigned:
Unassigned
Reporter:
Created:
3 Jun 2011 at 20:07 UTC
Updated:
17 Jun 2011 at 02:36 UTC
This is probably related to http://drupal.org/node/1069414, just in the 7.x version
When LoginToboggan is enabled, users become active immediately, even though the approval is required box is checked in the site configuration. This happens regardless of whether or not the "login immediately" item is checked in LoginToboggan settings. If I disable the module, the site returns to functioning as expected, so the issue is unlikely to be due to other modules.
Comments
Comment #1
hunmonk commentedthis is by design. users are immediately given the pre-auth role even when administrator approval is required. until they are approved by an admin, they do NOT have the auth user role.
Comment #2
jm.federico commentedBut this is not playing by the rules.
Drupal comes with the "active" option and plenty of modules rely on this, and are not expecting that users who are active are not to be allowed/shown soomewhere
I'll give you an example. There is this site we have where users can register after buying stuff at a given store. We have plenty of views that show the registered and ACTIVE users for different reasonss (like, allowing votes on users, showing newest users, most voted users, blah blah), after installing LoginToboggan we had to change all the views and plenty of code to add one more check, whether they had or not the "pre-auth" role. that is just not nice.
I'm scalling this to critical since modules should not come by inventing their own way of doing things, even more when user accounts are involved.
Accounts should not be set to active it is a dangerous assumption that thing will not break.
This could be a NEW functionality that one could enable/disable:
"Set users to active with a given role"
but should not be enforced in anyway.
Comment #3
hunmonk commentedsorry, i don't agree with you. the module doesn't break approval required, it simply changes the workflow around the concept. the core way is to disable the account until the admin approves, the LT way is to hold the account in the pre-auth role until the admin approves -- those users are active from the moment they register, and that seems a perfectly legal workflow adjustment to me.
i don't see this as a bug report, but a feature request, and it's not one that i'm interested in implementing at this time.
it would probably be trivial to write a small module that would insert a submit handler in the registration workflow after LT, and mark the user as blocked for your use case.
Comment #4
jm.federico commentedDup of #1069414: New users are not in "blocked" status even with admin approval required