I had groups with Privacy settings set like this:
Joining requires admin approval
+ Hide contributed content from non-members
After removing them, and creating new with same privacy settings, my users were able to see and create content in those new group even if there didn't even request membership.
EDIT: In my new group permissions I could see checked for non-members and greyed :
Contribute to the group
This permission should be enabled for members.