I have my registration process set so that users can set their own password upon registration and log in upon form submission, but are in an 'awaiting confirmation' role set by loggintoboggan that has no privileges to post content until they are assigned a 'member' role. That's where I need auto assign to come in. Currently however, it assigns the role to the account immediately, regardless of whether the confirmation link has been used, defeating the purpose of the confirmation process and allowing spam bots to post content.
I saw an ancient thread on this for 5.x but its two years old and I have no idea what to make of the 'solutions' they link to, which looks like they required you to poke around inside the modules code anyway, or if they would even apply to my 6.x site.
Would it be possible to have the option to have auto assign wait until the user has clicked the link in the confirmation email sent after registering an account before assigning roles?
Thanks for reading.
Comments
Comment #1
caponey commentedGood question! subscribing
Comment #2
brunorios1 commentedsubscribing
Comment #3
Anonymous (not verified) commented+1
Comment #4
panchoNot sure if it is necessary to make it just an option.
From my PO, nothing needs to happen until the account has been confirmed.
Otherwise: +1
(Feature requests go against 7.x, and may then be backported, so changing version)
Comment #5
DrupalNewbie01 commentedWondering if there is way around this issue... I am using both AAR and LoginToboggan. When the users register by selecting a role, they are getting assigned both pre-auth role and the selected role. And the user is able to login without validating their email. Is there a workaround for this issue?
Comment #6
T.Mardi commentedIs there a solution for this?
Comment #7
Anonymous (not verified) commentedMaybe Logintoboggan and Rules can do the job? Not tested, only an idea..
Comment #8
T.Mardi commentedIt seems logintobbagon can already do what is required in #1. I have created a new role called 'pre-authorised'. All accounts waiting approval are assigned this. Once their accounts have been authorised through the activation email they are automatically assigned the 'authorised user' role.
Comment #9
user654 commented.